2019 Bayou Region Athletic Hall of Fame set

Local paramedic earns President’s Award
May 17, 2019
Gary Blanchard Sr.
May 20, 2019

The Bayou Region Athletic Hall of Fame has named its third installment of inductees. 

The 2019 class will include former NFL players Clarence Verdin, Johnny Meads, Melvin Johnson and Jay Pennison, McNeese State University softball player Margaret Haydel-Johnson and professional bowler Avery LeBlanc.

The Foundation for Terrebonne General Medical Center and the TGMC Community Sports Institute announced this week that tickets are on sale for the third-annual Hall of Fame banquet, which will be held on June 20, 2019 at the Cypress Columns in Gray. 

The event will take place at 6 p.m. and tickets cost $50/person. They can be purchased at www.TGMC.com/events or by calling Catty Straatmann at 985-873-4603. 

At the banquet, each honoree will earn a spot of prominence on the Bayou Region Athletic Wall of Fame, located in the TGMC Community Sports Institute. Inductees represent some of the top athletes from Terrebonne, Lafourche or Assumption parishes. 

Proceeds from the event will support The Foundation for TGMC’s fundraiser and will help purchase and operate a mobile medical clinic/blood mobile.