Congressional races top list to watch

Welcome Center pays off 2 building liens
August 23, 2012
Houma turns back clock for major film crew
August 23, 2012
Welcome Center pays off 2 building liens
August 23, 2012
Houma turns back clock for major film crew
August 23, 2012

Election qualifying for political candidates ended Friday. For Tri-parish voters, races drawing the most attention, other than presidential, involve the newly aligned congressional districts.

The currently designated Dist. 3 Rep. Jeff Landry (R-New Iberia) will face-off in a primary bid Nov. 6 against currently designated Dist. 7 Rep. Charles Boustany (R-Lafayette) The two congressmen will vie for a return to Washington in the newly established Dist. 3, which involves voters of St. Mary Parish. A third Republican, Bryan Barrilleaux of Lake Charles, has also joined the GOP mix for that office.

One of the three Republicans is expected to face Libertarian Jim Stark of Lake Charles in the Dist. 3 congressional election of Dec. 8

Having been split horizontally, Lafourche and Terrebonne Parish residents will soon share congressional representation with two districts entering each area.

In the race for Congressional Dist. 1, incumbent Rep. Steve Scalise (R-Jefferson) is being challenged by Republican Gary King of New Orleans, Democrat M.V. ”Vinny” Mendoza of Ponchatoula and Arden Wills of Ponchatoula who is registered as having no party affiliation.

The Congressional Dist. 6 race has incumbent Rep. Bill Cassidy (R-Baton Rouge) challenged by Libertarian Rufus Holt Craig Jr. of Baton Rouge and Richard “RPT” Torregano, who has no party affiliation and is also from Baton Rouge.

Louisiana Associate Supreme Court Justice John Weimer (NP-Thibodaux) will maintain his seat on the bench by being unchallenged.

In the Court of Appeals, 1st Circuit, 1st Dist., Div. D, Judge Vanessa Guidry-Whipple (D-Bourg) keeps her bench position by running unopposed.

Court of Appeals, 1st Circuit, 1st Dist., Div. B, however, will see Democrat William Dupont of Plaquemine running against Republicans J. Christopher Erny of Houma, Mark D. Plaisance of Thibodaux and “Mitch” Theriot of Raceland.

The race for a Public Service Commission District 2 seat puts current Louisiana Department of Natural Resources Secretary Scott Angelle (R-Breaux Bridge) against Republicans Erich Ponti of Baton Rouge and Ed Roy of Lafayette, in addition to Democrat Forest Wright of New Orleans.

The Greater Lafourche Port Commission will see a race for the Div. A position between Armojen “A.J.-Buddy” Cantrelle of Larose and with no party affiliation, against Democrats Roy Gisclair of Cut Off and incumbent Harris “Chuckie” Cheramie Jr.

Remaining Lafourche Port Commission positions will be held by unchallenged incumbents including Perry Gisclair for Div. B, Jimmy “T-Jim” Lafont Div. C, Donald J. Vizier Div. D, Wilbert Collins Sr. Div. E, Larry J. Griffin Div. F, John Melancon Div. G, Jimmy Guidry Div. H and Ervin “Vin” Bruce Div. I.

In Golden Meadow, incumbent Mayor Joey Bouziga is being challenged by Frank Boura. Both men are registered Democrats.

The new Golden Meadow police chief will be Reggie Pitre, a Democrat who ran for the office unchallenged.

Golden Meadow voters will select five of nine candidates to form a new town council. Those seeking office include incumbents and Democrats David Adams, Mike Billiot, Jody P. Cheramie along with incumbent Priscilla Mounic who lists no party affiliation. Challengers include with no party listing Desiree Bodin, Democrat Troy Dufrene, Lindberg”Bap” Lorraine Jr. with no party affiliation, Democrat Damien St. Pierre and Republican Willis P. Toups.

The open race for mayor in Lockport lists Republicans Bruce Wilson and current Mayor Pro Tem Paul Champagne.

Democrat incumbent Warren Vedros will remain Lockport police chief unopposed.

The Lockport Town Council will see a return of unopposed incumbents Craig M. Rogers (Div. C) and Rodney Hartman (Div. D), both Republicans, along with Democrat incumbent Weldon “Chunky” Triche (Div. E).

Lockport’s Div. B for town council will see a race between non-party affiliated Eddie “Boo” Guidroz Jr. and Republican Ralph Spia.

In St. Mary Parish municipal elections, Patterson Councilman Charles Sawyer will maintain his position unchallenged. He is a Democrat.

Morgan City will see a five-way mayoral race against involving Democrats Larry P. Bergeron, Bart L. Mancuso and Kevin Voisin, as well as Lee A. Drana and Frank “Boo” Grizzaffi, neither of which claims a party affiliation.

Council races in Morgan City list Democrats Drue C. Clement challenging incumbent “Tim” Hymel for Dist. 1. Republican Barry J. Dufrene will take Dist. 2 unchallenged. Dist 3. will see a contest between incumbent Democrat “Ron”Bass and no party challenger C.E. “Charlie” Pratt. Republicans Ronald Berry and James Fontenot will face-off for Dist. 4, while incumbent Democrat Louis J. Tamporello Jr. remains in office unopposed.

Voter registration is open to qualified citizens and continues through Oct. 9.