Finalists revealed for Terrebonne Parish Teenager of the Year

South Lafourche to host ‘Coach O Day’
January 17, 2017
Suspect arrested after allegedly beating victims with baseball bat
January 17, 2017
South Lafourche to host ‘Coach O Day’
January 17, 2017
Suspect arrested after allegedly beating victims with baseball bat
January 17, 2017

Volunteers from local American Legion posts are poring over records of schoolwork, community and church service to determine which of 29 nominated Terrebonne Parish high school students should receive the coveted title of Teenager of the Year.

For the past 60 years a consortium of American Legion posts in Terrebonne Parish has selected a slate of candidates for their coveted “Terrebonne Teenager of the Year” award, and Saturday this year’s winner will be announced.

Current and former post commanders have gone through the ritual for 60 years, choosing by vote who among the nominees will receive the honor, the plaque and – usually – a government internship that goes with it.

The winner will be announced Saturday at a gala dinner sponsored by the Leonard Hotard Post 31 on Legion Avenue in Houma, and be honored at this year’s Terrebonne Chamber of Commerce banquet.

Hotard Post member Lee Shaffer III, an Air Force veteran, is one of the event organizers and said the volunteers involved with setting up the program “are amazed with the talent and dedication we see from all of the nominees.”

“The young leaders not only work extremely hard to achieve the best grades and academic accomplishments, but they strive to help and assist their local communities, faith communities and the people around them,” Shaffer said. “These are the core values we at the American Legion strives to reflect ourselves, and it is wonderful to see the next generation accomplishing these lofty ideals.”

The judging is done in a blind fashion with an effort to keep schools and student identities masked. The judges do not discuss entries with other judges.

The competition’s first winner was Leo Hebert Jr., who is now a physician.

For more information or to purchase tickets or corporate sponsorships for Saturday’s event, call Shaffer at 985-804-2265 or Kayla Duthu at 985-804-2835.

This year’s nominees, listed by school, are as follows.


Amber Bardarson; Brittney Lynn Liner; Sara Celine Rodrigue; Braden Michael Venable.


Emma Domangue; Hayden Caole; Julianne Claire DeBlieux; Katherine Beyer.


Quinn Lapeyrouse; Brett Matthew Landry; Hannah Weatherall; Jenna Kay Brunet.


Zachary Joseph Smith; Mathieu Austin Tillman; Paighton Sanchez; Alexis Dardar; Sahar Muhawesh.


Valente Hernandez Batista; Shelby Mae Renee Doxey; Justin Paul LeBlanc; Julie Elizabeth Barnes.


Andrew Edmonds; Caitlin Rose Harris; Charlie Edward Pamplin; Makinley Kathryn Cartier.


Brianna Marie Porche; Isabella Renee Hebert; Megan Elizabeth Callais; Julien Larisey