Senate Republican Caucus selects their leadership

The Republican Caucus of the Louisiana Senate has selected their leadership for the upcoming term.

Sen. Sharon Hewitt, District 1, has been elected Chairwoman.

“I’m honored to be selected by my Republican colleagues for this vitally important position,” said Se. Hewitt. “In this new leadership role, I’ll work to ensure that state government truly serves the hard working taxpayers of Louisiana. I look forward to working with our soon-to-be Senate President Page Cortez to develop conservative solutions to address Louisiana’s fundamental problems. We have a tremendous new group of Senators joining us and by working together, I know we will create a better community for Louisiana families.”

Joining Senator Hewitt on the Executive Committee will be Senator-elect Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge) as Vice-Chair, and Senator Beth Mizell (R-Franklinton), Senator-elect “Big Mike” Fesi (R-Houma) and Senator-elect Barry Milligan (R-Shreveport) as At-Large Members.