Terrebonne School District announces teachers, principals of the year

The Terrebonne Parish School District (TPSD) held a ceremony tonight at the Terrebonne Parish Library Main Branch to announce the 2021 Teachers and Principals of the Year.  

The following teachers were each recognized as a 2021 Teacher of the Year for their respective schools: Michelle Giroir, Melanie Pellegrin, Cynthia Foret, Jeri Overley, Nicole Bourque-Reiss, Amy Guidry, Danielle Ellender, Ashley Boudreaux, Kacie Olden-Woods, Gregg Hotard, Toni Ryman King, Summer Ratcliff, Sheridan Bardeleben, Cindy Galinsky, Shane Willis, Daniel Achee, Kristin Deroche, Megan Luke, Amy LeCompte, Matthew Hise, Jennifer Bourg Boudreaux, Sandra Gray, Christy Eilenfield, Mary Blanchard, Melissa Leger, Karinda Breaux, Catherine Hermans, Michelle Lapeyrouse, Stephanie Pellegrin, Don Buffington, Becky Theriot and Kendra Molinere.  

Houma Jr. High’s Shane Willis, Terrebonne High’s Stephanie Pellegrin and Mulberry Elementary’s Jennifer Bourg Boudreaux were each named 2021 Terrebonne Parish School District Teacher of the Year for their respective school level.  

“I was honestly shocked,” Boudreaux said after the announcement. “I am extremely excited and grateful, but I’m just shocked.”  

“I love the students; I’m definitely in it for the students,” the 15-year teacher continued. “Whether it’s a small goal or big goal, just having them achieve and succeed is just wonderful.” 

Legion Park Elementary’s Sharri McGuire, H.L. Bourgeois High’s Matthew Hodson and Acadian Elementary’s Dr. Monica Breaux were each named 2021 Terrebonne Parish School District Principal of the Year.  

“It’s nice to be rewarded for all the hard work, time and energy that we put into trying to grow our students,” Breaux said. “I love that the kids come up to me every day, and they just want to hug and just want to talk. I love working with teachers; I love helping them grow and achieve what they want to.”  

Louisiana Department of Education, in partnership with Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals, annually recognizes some of the state’s “most exceptional” educators through the Teacher and Principal of the Year programs. 

“Good teachers have to be patient. Their love for children is why they do what they do,” said TPSD Superintendent Philip Martin during the ceremony. “I want to congratulate all our Teachers of the Year and all of our Principals of the Year on what they do for our children every day of the year.”